Focus Policy Blog

Top Democratic and Republican Staffers

On September 1, the Joint Center, partnering with INSIGHT America, organized a lunch meeting with high-ranking Congressional staffers on the Hill.

The meeting took place at the Russell Senate Office Building, and Democratic and Republican Hill staffers met with organizational leaders who largely serve communities of color.

The Joint Center and INSIGHT America would like to thank Erica Suares, Noah Phillips, Christine Heggem, Mary Nowak, Courtney Temple, Ray Starling, Caren Street, Veronica Duron, Tom Mahr, and Ashli Scott Palmer for attending and participating in the event.

Meeting participants included:

National Association for Equal Opportunity in Higher Education Attorney and President Lezli Baskerville
US Black Chambers President & CEO Ron Busby
Urban Institute Government Affairs Senior Manager Amy Peake
Leadership Conference President & CEO Wade Henderson
United States Hispanic Chamber of Commerce Director of External Affairs and Policy Kevin Hernandez
National Association of Latino Elected and Appointed Officials Senior Policy Analyst Erin Hustings
Joint Center for Political and Economic Studies Board Chair Barbara Johnson
Asians Americans Advancing Justice Vice President of Policy and Programs Jiny Kim
Republican National Committee National Director of African American Initiatives and Media Telly Lovelace
Global Political Solutions, LLC Managing Partner Aaron Manaigo
African American Mayor’s Association Deputy Executive Director Everton Morris
National Association for Equal Opportunity in Higher Education Senior Fellow for Policy, Advocacy, and Communications Dr. Napoleon Moses
Joint Center President Spencer Overton
Urban Institute Director of Urban Policy Initiatives Erika Poethig
National Minority Quality Forum Founder & President Gary Puckrein, PhD
Congressional Hispanic Leadership Institute Director of Programs & External Affairs Nina Roque
INSIGHT America Founder Elroy Sailor
National Association for the Advancement of Colored People Washington Bureau Director and Senior Vice President for Advocacy Hilary Shelton
Generation Opportunity Director of External Affairs Ja’Ron Smith
Lawyers’ Committee for Civil Rights Public Policy Project Interim Director Kimberly Tignor
American Association-Blacks In Energy Vice President Operations Tracey Woods
Center for Neighborhood Enterprise Founder and President Bob Woodson


List of Congressional Leadership Offices Represented (list in formation)

Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-KY) (Erica Suares)
Senate Majority Whip John Cornyn (R-TX) (Noah Phillips)
House Agriculture Committee Chair Mike Conaway (R-TX) (Christine Heggem, Mary Nowak)
Senator Thom Tillis  (R-NC) (Courtney Temple, Ray Starling)
Senate Democratic Leader Harry Reid (D-NV) (Caren Street)
Senate Policy Committee Chair Chuck Schumer (D-NY) (Veronica Duron)
House Democratic Whip Steny Hoyer (D-MD) (Tom Mahr)
Assistant Democratic Leader James Clyburn (D-SC) (Ashli Scott Palmer)


View photos here.

Previous breakfasts have included Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack,House Majority Leader Kevin McCarthy,House Ways & Means Chair Kevin Brady,Secretary of Education John King,House Agriculture Chair Mike Conaway, andSenate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell.