Workforce Policy


Joint Center Hosts Roundtable of the Midwest

This week, the Joint Center hosted over 20 of the Midwest’s most innovative and influential elected officials and economic development leaders for a 2-day policy roundtable in Detroit, Michigan.

Roundtable participants came from Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Ohio, and Wisconsin, representing Black, Latino, and AAPI communities.

Speakers included Cincinnati Department of Community & Economic Development Director Oscar Bedolla, Detroit Economic Growth Corporation Director of Business Attraction Mark Denson, Wayne County Executive Warren Evans, Indiana Mayor Karen Freeman-Wilson, LinkedIn Head of U.S. Public Policy Nicole Isaac, Michigan Minority Supplier Development Council President Michelle Sourie Robinson, and others.

Sessions focused on the future of work, the future of entrepreneurs of color, and equitable development.

On the second day, participants toured Focus: HOPE — an organization that provides workforce skills training to Detroit residents from distressed backgrounds.

The Joint Center thanks the following entities for their generous support:  the Hudson Webber Foundation, the Kresge Foundation, Microsoft, Quicken Loans, the Skillman Foundation, the Joyce Foundation, Honda, DTE Energy, Detroit Renewable Energy, and Walker-Miller Energy Services.

Click here for the event program.

Roundtable Participants:

  • Oscar Bedolla, Director of the Department of Community & Economic Development (Cincinnati, OH)
  • Alisha Bell, Vice Chair of Wayne County Commission (Detroit, MI)
  • Garry Bulluck, Deputy Chief of Mobility Innovation for the City of Detroit (Detroit, MI)
  • Evelyn Burnett, Vice President of Economic Opportunity at Cleveland Neighborhood Progress (Cleveland, OH)
  • Jill Ford, Head of Detroit Innovation & Entrepreneurship Initiatives (Detroit, MI)
  • La Shawn K. Ford, Chairman of Small Business Empowerment & Workforce Development and Restorative Justice Committees (Illinois)
  • Karen Freeman-Wilson, Mayor (Gary, IN)
  • Sherry Gay-Dagnogo, Detroit Caucus Chair (Michigan)
  • Stephanie Howse, President of the Ohio Legislative Black Caucus (Ohio)
  • Clarence Hulse, Executive Director of Economic Development Corporation of Michigan City (Michigan City, IN)
  • Mattie Hunter, Majority Caucus Whip (Illinois)
  • Bert Johnson, State Senator (Michigan)
  • Brett Jones, President of Evergreen Energy Solutions (Detroit, MI)
  • Walter Lanier, Director of Multicultural Affairs & Community Engagement at Milwaukee Area Technical College (Wisconsin)
  • Leslie Love, State Representative (Michigan)
  • Theresa Mah, State Representative (Illinois)
  • Julian Marsh, Executive Director of the Gary Housing Authority (Indiana)
  • Mara Candelaria Reardon, Vice Chair of the Board of Hispanic Caucus Chairs (Indiana)
  • Andrew Stein, Vice President & Executive Director at City Year (Detroit, MI)