Hill Diversity

jomar-271602-unsplash (1)

Joint Center Sends Ranking Members a Letter Urging Them to Prioritize Diversity

On November 9, the Joint Center sent twenty-two letters to Ranking Members: Elijah Cummings, Peter DeFazio, Ted Deutch, Eliot Engel, Raúl Grijalva, Eddie Bernice Johnson, Zoe Lofgren, Nita Lowey, Carolyn Maloney, Jim McGovern, Jerrold Nadler, Richard Neal, Frank Pallone, Collin Peterson, Adam Schiff, Bobby Scott, Adam Smith, Mark Takano, Bennie Thompson, Nydia Velázquez, Maxine Waters, and John Yarmuth.

We anticipate these Members becoming committee Chairs and doubling the size of their committee staff which will lead to dozens of new jobs that can go to diverse candidates.

The letters urged them to prioritize diversity when hiring their top staff and listed recommendations on how to do so. See an example of the letter here.